Let’s go, 2014!

Happy New Year!

We’re only five days into 2014, but I’ve a feeling it’s going to be a great one. I’ve already ran my first 5k race, been to the cinema twice (American Hustle and The Hobbit), started the book club I’ve been talking about forever, cooked up a storm, spent quality time with good friends and best of all, received wonderful news about a loved one’s health. EXCELLENT!

I’m a list-maker by nature and usually have a list as long as my arm of ‘resolutions’ every year. Mainly they’re just reminders of things I’d like to do or ways in which I can be a better person in general. I love this time of year because it always feels like a clean slate, and although I know that every day can be the day that you can change things in your life, what can I say, I like this aspect of the New Year! (even if I’m not the biggest fan of NYE aka the most overrated anti-climactic night of the year).

I go into 2014 with all of the wonderful experiences and adventures that 2013 brought me firmly in my memory and in my heart. Among many things, what I have learned from travelling solo this past year, is that I really CAN do whatever I put my mind to. Even if it’s scary or seems impossible, I can find the courage somewhere within me to do it. It reminds me of this quote from Game of Thrones:

” ‘Can a man still be brave if he’s afraid?’ ‘

That is the only time a man can be brave’ “

I’m looking forward to seeing what 2014 has in store for me, it definitely has a lot to live up to!

Image credit: merryatseven.blogspot.co.uk via Pinterest

Leave a Reply

